National Bank of the Republic of Belarus

Written By: Ehsan Jahandarpour

The National Bank of the Republic of Belarus (NBRB; Belarusian: Нацыянальны банк Рэспублікі Беларусь; Russian: Национальный банк Республики Беларусь) is the central bank of Belarus, located in Minsk. The bank was created in 1922 under the name of “Belarusian Republican Bank” by the Soviet of People’s Commissars of Byelorussia, but soon worked under the direction of the State Bank of the USSR. Undergoing reorganizations in 1959 and 1987, the bank appeared in its current form in 1990 after the passage of banking rules upon declaring independence from the Soviet Union.