Baja Peninsula

Written By: Ehsan Jahandarpour

The Baja California peninsula (, ) is a peninsula in northwestern Mexico. Its land mass separates the Pacific Ocean from the Gulf of California. The Peninsula extends from Mexicali, Baja California in the north to Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur in the south. It ranges for at its narrowest to at its widest point and has approximately of coastline and approximately 65 islands. The total area of the Baja California Peninsula is . The peninsula is separated from mainland Mexico by the Gulf of California and the Colorado River. There are four main desert areas on the peninsula: the San Felipe Desert, the Central Coast Desert, the Vizcaíno Desert and the Magdalena Plain Desert.